Just Breathe

Inertia.

I’ve fallen victim to not being able to know when to stop. My days are filled with working out and when I’m not working out, I’m planning my next run, bike or swim. I’ve even noticed that I’m constantly talking about training, races, and the need for fuel. These days, my friends that I have been hanging out with are all athletes, perhaps it’s because of my conversation topics! Talk about emersion. This week happens to be ParticipACTION’s “Sneak It In” week – making time to incorporate physical activity into one’s daily routine….the story of my life these days!

run

A short run turned into a longer one. I couldn’t help it – the sun was out and the road was calling my name.

Last night, after my session at Kinesio Sport Lab I could tell I was tired. Not in the “I didn’t get enough sleep last night” kind of way…but in a way that I need to Simmer. Down. I had a great ride on the trainer and pushed it hard, and I absolutely love the computrainer challenge. However, my body is talking to me, and I need to listen. My biggest training hurdle right now is knowing when to give it my all and when to stop.

My morning plan was to hit the gym for a run and some weights before my 10AM meeting, but I knew when I rolled over this morning and felt the throb in my legs – before I even rolled out of bed – that my schedule needed a change.

So here I am, at one of my favourite hideouts, Just Us! at King’s Wharf. Sometimes – like today – there are only a handful of us in here and it is so peaceful. The atmosphere is perfect, with comfy nooks and a view. I was taught recently that it’s important to stop and work on your business, rather then in your business without taking time to reflect (hamster wheel, anyone?).

A moment of rest

Be calm.

On a personal level, that means stepping away from the day-to-day to focus on what is important to me, what really matters, what are my goals (career, family, home and physical) and sometimes just chilling the heck out and drinking some awesome coffee while watching the beautiful harbour we live near. My run was swapped with slowing it down. For now.

I’ve called in help for the remaining three months of training. I have my time goal (that I often waiver about) but must remember the ultimate goal is to walk up to the race start line, knowing that I’ve done everything I can to get me through the best possible race I can complete.

countdown

My friendly reminder I woke up to on Saturday morning.

One of my favourite songs is called “Breathe” by Telepopmusik, it’s perfectly suited for today. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

