The Countdown is on

I’m back in full swing training with 25 days left until race day.

life is a story

On Sunday, June 1st I completed my first triathlon of the season at the Navy Trident Sprint distance.

I surprised myself with pre-race jitters for this event. I wonder if it was the impending larger triathlon or the fact that I had a 2pm heat start, second from the last of the day. I had hours and hours to get lost in my own silly thoughts.

As I climbed into the pool I attempted to calm myself down with the following thoughts:

  • This is just a warm up for the season
  • No one is really watching
  • This will be fine.
  • HaveFunHaveFunHaveFun

You're right

Where I’ve seen distinct improvement in my run and bike over the past 12 months, I have to say my swim has been consistent for the past 6 years of triathlons. I take it easy. I avoid getting kicked. I find rhythmic breathing. I never burn out. Breathe, breathe, breathe. Oh, and where did I park my bike?

Navy Triathlon June 1 2014

A quiet moment of reflection post-race

I exited the pool last and experienced some mild humility. (Perhaps I should push it a little hard moving forward!)  I found my bike and headed up the small (yet mighty) hill to the runway, where participants make three laps on the tarmac.

I was feeling pretty confidant, given the flat nature of the course, but my confidence hadn’t accounted for the wind.  Oh the wind! When I checked my speedometer I wasn’t surprised, but still disheartened to read 20K/hr. I tried to find joy in reading 30-35K/hr with the tailwind.

Last off the runway.

And then the run. This 5K would be my third run since my physiotherapy treatments and I wasn’t 100% sure how this would turn out. I was happy to be pain-free at a 6min/km pace (my base pace) and after a swim and bike, I felt this was a win.  I certainly  felt my knee say “hello” but thankfully no pain.

Triathlon_Navy_2014_finishline

Crossing the finish line of the Sprint

I crossed the finish line feeling strong and happy. I still have work to do before my big race, but I am moving in the right direction. I am going to finish the 70.3 race. When I signed up for this race I thought at this point of my training I would faster and stronger than I am now, but I’ve got a long way to go. Building up strength on the bike (and run) takes longer than 6 months. I just need to keep at it.

cheering squad navy triathlon

My cheering squad for the Sprint (They’re coming to St. Andrews too!)

It’s easy to see how much further I have to go, then realizing how far I’ve come. I was a ball of emotions after the race, I called in the big guns, and went to hangout with some ironmen, who happen to be long-time friends of mine. They helped quiet those negative thoughts that were creeping in. I am grateful.

beers with friends

17 years of friendship with these amazing (ironman) guys

This weekend I’m participating in my first triathlon training camp in St. Andrews. I’m excited to have some great friends accompanying me, while also slightly nervous about the 90K bike, but I think that knowing that the route is will calm my nerves.

The countdown is on. The medals were reviled today. There’s no turning back now, I might as well enjoy the ride.

finisher

I have really, really, really worked hard for this.

Leave a Reply

